Friday, October 2, 2009

San Pedro Improvement League Founded

The San Pedro Improvement League was organized in January 1898. Membership initially totaled 36 people. The elected officers (note the familiar names in San Pedro history) were as follows:

John T. Gaffey: President
Vice-Presidents: N.W. Tilton, J.H. Dodson
Secretary: A. Bert Bynon
Treasurer: Henry Boly

This new improvement club announced that they were strictly non-political, and their purpose was for the "improvement and advancement of the town."

No comments: